Syllabus



Week 1
 Tues 10 Jan   Welcome + What is a PDE?
 
 Thurs 12 Jan  Finite differences for ODE BVP
 NOTES: Section I and II
 Ch. 1,2.1-2.12
Week 2
 Tues 17 Jan
 Convergence of finite differences for ODE BVP
 
 Thurs 19 Jan
  Finite difference for Laplace BVP
 NOTES: Section II
Week 3
 Tues 24 Jan
  Finish Laplace with finite differences
 
 Thurs 26 Jan
  Floats and conditioning 
Week 4
 Tues 31 Jan
  NO CLASS

 Thurs 2 Feb
   Spectral methods vs finite differences   Boyd: Sections 1.1-1.2,
  1.4, 1.6-1.8
Week 5
 Tues 7 Feb
  Interpolation
  Interpolation demo code
Boyd: Sections4.1-4.2,
 5.1-5.4
 Thurs 9 Feb
  Spring recess

Week 6
 Tues 14 Feb
  Solving ODEs via Spectral methods
   cheb.m     example
Boyd: 6.1-6.9
 Trefethen: Ch. 6-7
Thurs 16 Feb
  Continue ODEs via Spectral methods
 p13.m  
p15.m
 
Week 7
 Tues 21 Feb
    1D HPS
 
 Thurs 23 Feb
  1D HPS continued    
Week 8
 Tues 28 Feb
  No class

 Thurs 2 March
  No class

Week 9
  Tues 7 March
 PDEs via spectral
p16.m  p17.m
  Trefethen:Ch. 6-7
  Boyd: 6.6-6:15
 Thurs 9 March
    HPS
 Paper
Week 10
 Tues 14 March
  Spring Break
 Thurs 16 March
   Spring Break
 
Week 11
 Tues 21 March
 HPS + Functional Spaces CAAM 452 Notes: V
 Thurs 23 March
 Functional Spaces continued
Week 12
 Tues 28 March
  Functional Spaces continued     Notes
 Thurs 30 March
 Variational problems    CAAM 452 NOTES: VI
Week 13
 Tues 4 April
  Finite Element in 1D CAAM 452 Notes: IV
 Thurs 6 April
  Finite Element in 1D Continued
Week 14
 Tues 11 April


 Thurs 13 April
 Finite Elements in 1D Notes  
Week 15
 Tues 18 April


 Thurs 20 April