Tapia Inducted into Texas Science Hall of Fame

Richard Tapia, Professor of Computational and Applied Mathematics, has been named a 2002 inductee into the Texas Science Hall of Fame. The Hall of Fame is a tribute to the "giants" who shape the world through their innovative use of science and engineering. Tapia was recognized for his work in increasing minority graduate students in engineering.

Eleven individuals were inducted at the Texas Science Summit 2002 on Monday, January 21, 2002 in recognition of their achievements in the many fields of science and engineering. Among those inducted were Astronaut Mae Jemison and Nobel Prize winners Johann Deisenhofer, Michael Brown, and Joseph Goldstein. The inductees were recognized in both houses of the Texas legislature and commended by Governor Rick Perry. Tapia said, "I was extremely honored to be included in a group of such distinguished individuals who had demonstrated science creativity in so many original ways."

The Texas Science Hall of Fame is located in the Institute of Texan Cultures at the University of Texas in San Antonio.

Pictured, left to right: Hector Holguin, Tom Finch, Dr. Richard Tapia, James Finch, Dr. Michel T. Halbouty, Dr. Sammy M. Ray and Dr. Michael Ahearn.


[Honors & Awards] [Curriculum Vitae] [Main Page]

This page is maintained by Hilena Vargas (hvargas@rice.edu)
Updated: February 11, 2002